New Speakers of the Parliament, from left to right, Tuula Haatainen (SDP), Matti Vanhanen (Centre) and Juho Eerola (PS) posed for a photograph in the Finnish Parliament on Friday, 7 June 2019. (Antti Aimo-Koivisto – Lehtikuva)

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

EX-PRIME MINISTER Matti Vanhanen (Centre) has been appointed as the new Speaker of the Finnish Parliament.

Vanhanen on Friday received a vote of approval from 141 Members of the Parliament. Tuula Haatainen (SDP) was appointed as the First Deputy Speaker and Juho Eerola (PS) as the Second Deputy Speaker of the Parliament later on Friday.

Haatainen received a vote of approval from 162 and Eerola from 148 Members of the Parliament.

The Speaker of the Finnish Parliament is traditionally selected by the second largest ruling party in the Finnish Parliament. The Finns Party voiced its displeasure with the fact that it, having been the second most popular party in the recent parliamentary elections, was not allowed to select the speaker.

Vanhanen expressed his gratitude to his fellow lawmakers and pledged to develop parliamentary work in an inclusive manner.

“I want us all to think about our work and ways of working together,” he stated, before calling attention to the importance of parliamentary committees. “I especially want that representatives think about developing committee work.”

Aleksi Teivainen – HT
Source: Uusi Suomi