National Coalition Party chair PM-designate Petteri Orpo. LEHTIKUVA


The National Council and Parliamentary Group of the National Coalition Party (Kokoomus) decided in a joint meeting on Sunday in Helsinki to participate in a majority government led by Petteri Orpo. The coalition will also include the Finns Party, the Swedish People's Party (RKP), and the Christian Democrats. Kokoomus has approved the negotiation result of the government program dated June 16, 2023.

During the joint meeting of the National Council and Parliamentary Group, the proposal for Kokoomus ministers was also approved. Kokoomus will have eight ministerial positions in the government, with two of them being shared, meaning that the minister will change after two years.

The appointed ministers from Kokoomus are as follows:

Prime Minister: Petteri Orpo from the Southwest Finland constituency. Orpo, the chairman of Kokoomus, is currently the Speaker of Parliament. He was first elected as a Member of Parliament in 2007. Orpo has previously served as the Minister of Finance (2016-2019), Minister of the Interior (2015-2016), and Minister of Agriculture and Forestry (2014-2015).

Minister of Municipalities and Regions: Anna-Kaisa Ikonen from the Pirkanmaa constituency. Ikonen is a Kokoomus Member of Parliament and Vice-Chairman of the party. She has previously served as the Mayor of Tampere. Ikonen has also been a Member of Parliament from 2019 to 2021.

Minister of Foreign Affairs: Elina Valtonen from the Helsinki constituency. Valtonen is the Vice-Chairman of Kokoomus and has been a Member of Parliament since 2014.

Minister of Defense: Antti Häkkänen from the Southeast Finland constituency. Häkkänen is serving his third term as a Member of Parliament and is a Vice-Chairman of Kokoomus. He previously held the position of Minister of Justice from 2017 to 2019.

Minister of Social Security: Sanni Grahn-Laasonen from the Häme constituency. Grahn-Laasonen has been a Member of Parliament since 2011. She has previously served as the Minister of Education and Culture (2017-2019), Minister of Education and Communications (2015-2017), and Minister of the Environment (2014-2015).

Minister of Employment: Arto Satonen from the Pirkanmaa constituency (for 2 years) and Matias Marttinen from the Satakunta constituency (for 2 years). Satonen has been a Member of Parliament since 2003, and Marttinen is serving his second term.

Minister of Science and Culture: Sari Multala from the Uusimaa constituency (for 2 years) and Mari-Leena Talvitie from the Oulu constituency (for 2 years). Multala and Talvitie are both serving their third terms as Members of Parliament.

Minister of Climate and Environment: Kai Mykkänen from the Uusimaa constituency. Mykkänen has been leading the Kokoomus Parliamentary Group since 2019 and is serving his third term as a Member of Parliament. He previously held the positions of Minister of the Interior (2018-2019) and Minister for Foreign Trade and Development (2016-2018).

The participation of Kokoomus in the government, along with the other coalition partners, reflects a commitment to working together to address the challenges and opportunities facing Finland. The appointed ministers bring a wealth of experience and expertise to their respective roles, which will be crucial in shaping and implementing government policies.

As the government prepares to assume office, the nation looks forward to the collective efforts of the coalition in advancing the interests of Finland and its citizens. The newly appointed ministers from Kokoomus are expected to contribute to the government's agenda and work towards the well-being and prosperity of the country.