Räty, Orpo and Toivakka take over ministerial portfolios

Laura Räty (left) will become the new Minister of Social Affairs and Health, Petteri Orpo the Minister of Agriculture and Forestry, and Lenita Toivakka the Minister for European Affairs and Foreign Trade.

The National Coalition (NCP) has reshuffled its ministerial line-up, reassigning the portfolios of everyone but Jan Vapaavuori, the Minister of Economic Affairs.

Laura Räty, the deputy Mayor of Helsinki, will succeed Paula Risikko as the Minister of Social Affairs and Health. Risikko, in turn, will assume the office of the Minister of Transport and Local Government relinquished by Henna Virkkunen due to her responsibilities in the European Parliament.

Prime Minister-elect Alexander Stubb will hand over the portfolio of the Minister for European Affairs and Foreign Trade to Lenita Toivakka, while Petteri Orpo will succeed Jari Koskinen as the Minister of Agriculture and Forestry.

The NCP unveiled its new ministerial line-up on Monday, following a report by Iltalehti.

The extensive reshuffle may benefit the party in the next parliamentary elections by enabling the new ministers to gain greater visibility and their predecessor to campaign on their ministerial experience.

Stubb on Monday revealed that he had contemplated the appointments ever since his election as the NCP chairperson in Lahti in mid-June. “I hope that geographical factors, expertise and gender distribution have all been taken into consideration,” he said.

In addition, the Prime Minister-elect suggested that the expertise of Vapaavuori in economic affairs is likely to be unrivalled in Finland.

Stubb also revealed that Risikko had approached him immediately after the party conference to say that she believed the time was right for a new challenge after seven years as the Minister of Social Affairs and Health. “It was entirely Paula's decision,” he emphasised.

Räty, in turn, is needed to hammer out the reform of social welfare and health care services. “She's a doctor, a consummate professional who oversees 22,000 people somehow involved in the reform,” Stubb explained.

Teemu Luukka, Juha-Pekka Raeste – HS
Aleksi Teivainen – HT
Photo: Markku Ulander / Lehtikuva

Helsinki Times Information

Editor-in-chief Alexis Kouros Tel: +358 9 689 67 425

Editorial team

James O’Sullivan, David Cord, Yannick Ilunga, Alicia Jensen, Merle Must, Andy Kruse, Eva Czechanowski, Anna-Maija Lappi, Annika Rautakoura, Mari Storpellinen, Aleksi Teivainen 

Email: info(a)helsinkitimes.fi

Web & Online subscription

Mahmoud Assiabi

Sales and marketing

Bob Graham
Aiman Kaddoura
Ethan Shadabi
Andre Roots

Email addresses are

Helsinki Times Oy
Vilhonvuorenkatu 11 B
00500 Helsinki